Dinner and Projects and Mother’s Day, oh my!

Hello All!  I am here, once again to share some money saving moments I’ve had, what I am making for dinner tonight and the result of projects and the start of a new one.

So to kick it off… I am making Chile Rellenos for dinner.  I love these things!  I don’t always stick to traditional ingredients either… I mean, what is traditional when there are 100s of ways people make them.  This is just one of many ways I have made them.  Sadly, I am the only one in my home, consisting of 4 of us, that actually eats them.  Oh well, more for me!  But never fear, these guys are gonna get my homemade tacos, so its all good!  The recipe for these particular Chile Rellenos…?  Well I will include it at the end of this post, in case you want to try some for yourself.  My main reason I thought about making these was that I was at a local flea market and at this flea market they have MANY vendors selling fresh produce at great prices.  Well, wouldn’t you know it, they had Hatch Peppers, which happen to be my favorite!  $2 for a whole basket?  Yes please!  I also got avocados at an incredible price as well… who can pass up avocados?  Not me, that’s for sure!

Another good deal I found today?  Well, I was shopping for a mothers day gift, for my mom and headed over to Sears.  I love this place.  They actually have some really nice clothing and stuff for women and they discount their clothing all the time.  Today, we had  $10 in Sears points for women’s apparel so that was our first stop to see if they had anything worth while.  And, boy did they.  I found three very nice tops, all on sale, yay me!  The awesomeness didn’t stop there.  I was all set to use my sears points and then the cashier took off an extra 20% off AND my $10 in points!  Not sure if it was a mothers day sale or clothing sale or what.  All I knew was that it was awesome to spend $20 on three VERY nice tops!  Again… Love that place.  

So, now, to switch gears again… PROJECT UPDATES!

I finally finished the Anniversary gift for my parents as well as the finished Batman v Superman symbol I made for my youngest.  Oh and I started a 2 NEW projects.  Big surprise huh?  Yeah, I know, I can’t stop myself.

20160503_161749

Yep, they are celebrating 55 years of marriage!  This is a small keepsake box I made them and lined it with blue felt so my mom can put jewelry in it or my dad can put coins in it and either will get scratched.  (I will add a photo of the inside later.  Not sure what happened to it.)

20160423_234413

This is the Batman v Superman symbol that I made just for my son and he hung it proudly on his wall.  He really likes it.  It IS batman after all!

20160504_164824

So, this is a little sign I’m making for my entry way.  I cut all the wood slices from cut limbs from crepe myrtles in our yard and burned in the letters.  The piece of wood below is yet another cut of wood I am reusing and re-purposing.  I can;t wait for this to be done.  Its gonna look so cute!

So this is my latest project.  I decided to make a reclaimed wood table.  I finally bought those spindles at the little junk shop that I spoke of before and thought they would make great table legs.  Well, when I got em home, they were much too long for a small side table, so what was a girl to do?  I doubled the size of the table and now I am working on a sofa table/occasional table that can be put really anywhere and be used for decoration or be used in the kitchen as an extra prep area.  Cool, huh?  More on this soon!

Now, for that recipe I promised.

Chile Rellenos Cassarole

Yes, I know it sounds odd, but for me, who really hates to fry anything, I promise it works and tastes really good!

What you need:

4-5 Hatch Peppers(or any kind you like for these)

Cheese to fill peppers (go with what you like.  I have used everything from queso fresco to mozzarella sticks)

bread crumbs

2 cans, 16 oz each, diced toamtoes

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 medium onion

1/2 pepper diced, of your choosing.  (I used a little hatch and a little red bell, gives the ranchero sauce, sweet and heat that way)

1 tsp (or more if you like)garlic powder or granules(you can use fresh cloves and those would need to be sauteed with the onions and peppers

salt and pepper to taste

Ranchero Sauce

Get the sauce going first as you want all the lovely flavors to meld together and get all yummy!  In a skillet heat a few tablespoons of olive oil, or whatever you have on hand, and sautee the onion, pepper and garlic, if you used fresh cloves.  Cook till onion is slightly translucent.

Pour your cans of diced tomatoes in a sauce pan with the cumin, paprika, garlic(if using powder)and salt & pepper.  Add your cooked onion and peppers and still well.  Bring it up to a light boil, then turn down to simmer, covered, for 15 minutes or so. You can turn off the sauce after about 15 minutes and leave on the burner covered and it will be fine, until the Rellenos are ready.

The CHILE RELLENOS

Take each pepper and rub with olive oil to coat lightly.  Place on middle oven rack and turn on BROIL.  Blister the peppers until they are pretty well charred, turning every so often with long tongs.  They will look black and bubbly but the inside is perfect.  Once they are blistered around the whole pepper, place them in a glass or metal bowl(no plastic bowls) and cover with a lid or plastic wrap, tightly.  Give em at least 15 minutes in the “sauna” bowl, but you can leave em longer if you think the skin may be particularly difficult to get off.  Now, here is the messy and fun part!  Once the peppers have steeped long enough, remove them carefully.  You can pull the top stem right off and discard and you should now be able to pull the skin from the pepper with ease.  Once all peppers have been skinned, cut a slit down one side and open the pepper flat. Scrape out all the seeds and ribs.  You will now have hands coated in pepper seeds.  You’re welcome.  LOL  After all the peppers are clean, the construction begins.  Take a casserole dish and sprinkle bread crumbs in the bottom to just cover it.  take half of the peppers and lay them flat on top of the bread crumbs.  Now is the time for cheese.  I find when making a casserole, go for your fave flavor of shredded cheese and sprinkle as much or little as you like.  Next, top with remaining peppers and sprinkle the peppers with a good coating of bread crumbs.  Boom!  Done!

Place in the oven at 375 for 20-25 minutes, checking often.  The top will get a little brown and the cheese will be melty.  Cut a big chunk off for yourself and coat with Ranchero Sauce… and maybe a little sour cream or guacamole. ENJOY!

 

see ya next time…

RK, the CRAZY MAMA

Standard

Leave a Reply

