Produce Co-Op Day!

Memo028

I don’t know why, but it makes me so happy when I parcipate in the co-op.  It could be that its a great community comraderie, this coming together for a common purpose of getting great food at a great price.  It could be that my family is more open to more veggies than they hav been before.  But for me its also the not knowing what I will get until the day of distribution and then, boom!  I have all this produce, some of which I have never bought and prepared before, much less eaten it.  Today was not a day of oddities though.  The only item I’d never prepared before, in any form or fashion, was beets.  Gonna have to look up some recipes for those bad boys!

IMG_0089

This was a Bountiful Basket, indeed!

THE BREAKDOWN:

4 avocados

11 red potatoes

8 onions

2 beets

4 orange bell peppers (my fave)

2 packs of blackberries

1 head of cabbage

2 cucumbers

5 fuji apples

1 mini watermelon

6 bananas

1 pomegranate

This pic does not do this stuff justice!  Everything is so fresh and wonderful smelling!

With a cold front threatening to darken our doorstep in just a few days, I am thinking some hearty chicken and potato soup or some veggie beef stew may be in order very soon!  Mmmmmm, yummy!

That is all for now!  There may be a few recipes put up here soon!  Sooooo many possibilites!

UNTIL NEXT TIME…

~ ~ ~crAzy MamA~ ~ ~

Standard

Leave a Reply

