Middle Of Somewhere Else

Memo027

If you are a city dweller or at least in the ‘burbs, have you even dreamed of getting away from it all?  No, I don’t mean a long vacation, I mean a permanent move to somewhere else, out away from the hustle and bustle of a normal everyday city.  I do, more often than not, these days.  I already know what its like, I live in Texas for goodness sakes.  While I do live in the DFW area, I have lived in the heart of a big city and lived out in the country and by golly I prefer the country!  I may have grown up in a ‘burb of Fort Worth, but it felt like a small town back then and my parents also used to take us kids out to the country where we had a lot of wooded property with nothin on it.  We’d explore the whole day and I loved nothing more than the beautiful smell of that “forest” that was all my own!  More recently I have begun to get back to those roots, driving out of my way to get to a small dairy farm for raw milk, but more importantly to get away from the bustle of the city life I currently reside in.  For me the long drive is relaxing(I’m a road trip kinda gal) and once we are out away from it all it feels like i can truly breathe.  It makes me happy.  It is just so beautiful, the quiet and solitude of nowhere-ville USA.  And while these thoughts had been running through my mind, I am guessing my hubby was thinking the same thing because he brought it up just the other day as well.  It may be a few years before anything could actually happen in that department, but I love to think about it.  I love to think about having a big ol’ chunk of land to call our own and have cows or horses or chickens or goats.  I love to picture a quaint little house for us at the end of a long gravel drive.  I love to picture my kids and dogs running all over the place as much as they want.  I love to dream about the amount of fruits and veggies I could grow.  But most importantly I want land, lots of it.  I want to keep it un-marred by roads and shops and city stuff.  I want the only things I see out my windows to be the openness of the prarie or the dense vegitation of woods.  Don’t get me wrong, I like shops and freeways and city parks…I am a city girl right now, but the more I think about it, the more I don’t wanna be.

Well, thats it for my current musings.

IMG_68811772456605

cRaZyMAMA

UP Next: Its Pumpkin season and you know what that means…I make everything I can possibly create, with pumpkins and their seeds.  YUM!

Standard

Leave a Reply

