Pumpkin Seeds: The Great Treasure of Pumpkin Carving

Image

So today we bought our pumpkins to carve.  I had been looking forward to this for a while now…just so I could get at those perfect morsels of yumminess, the seeds.  My kids did most of the carving, save for the initial cutting off the top and ‘scooping the goop’ from the inside.  That is my favorite part, as I get to pull out and separate all the seeds.  Yes, its messy and pumpkin smells rather odd, but the mess is the fun part.  Above are the lovely results of my scooping, rinsing and roasting.  Yum!  Perfection in my book!

If you are wondering how I did this, the recipe is below.  I hope you try it and enjoy as much as we do.  Now, I just need another excuse to go buy another pumpkin so I can have more seeds to roast.

RK- – – – – –

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Remove seeds from pumpkin(s)

Place in bowl after separating out as much of the pumpkin goo and strings as you can.

Fill bowl with water and slush the seeds around in it a bit.  Let them soak, on and off stirring them up lightly to help remove more strings, for about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 300°

Remove to paper towel and pat dry.

Place in a bowl with 2 Tbsp. melted margarine or olive oil.  (I use olive oil)

Add seasonings to your taste.  I add sea salt and granulated garlic.

Stir well.

Place in a single layer on a baking sheet/dish.

Bake for 40 minutes at 300°

After 40 minutes, leave them in the oven as they cool.  When oven is cooled they are done.

Enjoy!

Standard

Leave a Reply

