What’s in that?

Have you ever been curious as to what’s in your food?  Have you ever wondered if those low fat, low sodium things you see in the grocery store really are good for you after all?  I know I have.  When looking at labels it can be confusing and quite startling.  Especially when you understand what all those things are and discover that there are so many more preservatives and fillers than you thought…sometimes more ‘other stuff’ than the actual food.  I do like to go out to eat on occasion and while I understand that I will never really know what’s in what I am being served, its okay once in a while.  Any other time, I like fixin food at home, as I am sure you can see by now.  I try to go from scratch on most things these days, in attempt to make it healthier and in most cases even more flavorful.  Tonight, for instance, I made chicken tacos, from leftover crock pot chicken from last night, with homemade taco seasoning, homemade salsa and homemade tortillas.  It was a hit.  Really any night I make tacos is a hit.  For a while now I have been making tortillas, salsa and taco seasoning and the best part about that is that I know exactly what is going into making it.  No artificial crap going into this!  Now that doesn’t mean I am totally homemade just yet, but I’m getting there.  For instance, do I really know what is in the store bought cheese I purchase?  Nope and that is my next step…making Mozzarella, Cheddar and Monterrey Jack cheeses from the uber-fresh raw milk I get right from the dairy.  It seems as if the difficulty is about like anything else I’ve tried, so I am willing to give it a whirl.  Actually I’m totally excited about it!  I am starting small, you know, so if I make mistakes they won’t be huge mistakes.  I expect there to be hiccups, as with anything, but it won’t stop me.  Like, if I mess up mozzerella cheese, the worst that will happen is that it doesn’t come together properly and I end up with ricotta.  Yeah that would be sooooo awful… Ha!  I know, that regardless of those hiccups, in the end we will have some yummy, raw milk cheese to devour…and my family will do just that!

RK~~~~~~~~~~

Standard

Leave a Reply

